‘A Toast to State’

commencementBuffalo State conferred degrees on 1,752 undergraduate and 509 graduate students during its 145th Commencement celebration on Saturday, May 13, in the Sports Arena.

Jon Battison, Alexia Matos-Mateo, Jeremiah Perez-Torres, Carly Pershyn, Lydia Sigurdson (undergraduate students), and Monique Owens (graduate student) were honored with the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence in recognition of their academic and extracurricular achievements, leadership, and service. Battison addressed the audiences at the morning and afternoon ceremonies as the recipient of the President’s Medal for Outstanding Undergraduate Student. Heather McCarthy delivered an address at the evening ceremony as the recipient of the President’s Medal for Outstanding Graduate Student.

Eduard Feibischoff, ’79, an Emmy Award–winning sports producer, received the Distinguished Alumnus Award and delivered the Commencement address at the morning and afternoon ceremonies. Bahira Sherif Trask, professor and chair of human development and family studies at the University of Delaware, delivered the Commencement address at the evening ceremony.

A Distinguished Alumnus Award was granted to Ruthann E. Grey, ’66, ’71, a retired national and global business executive, at the morning ceremony, and Gregory T. Clabeaux, ’03, a board-certified vascular and general surgeon, received the Young Alumnus Achievement Award at the afternoon ceremony.

In addition, the President’s Distinguished Service Award was presented to Paul J. Lamparelli, ’82, president of Lamparelli Construction.